#1940 Club: The Norths Meet Murder by Frances and Richard Lockridge and The So Blue Marble by Dorothy B. Hughes

It is the second day of the #1940 Club and time to look at two debuts.

The Norths husband-wife detective duo had long been on my wishlist and when I saw that their career in detection began in 1940, I immediately decided to read it for the club.

Mr. North comes home one day, tired and grumpy because of the continuing hot weather. Mrs. North not only gives him some refreshing cocktails (and yes, through out the book, there is a lot of drinking) but also tells him that she has decided to throw a party the next day that would cheer him up. Their landlady has given her permission to host the party at the top-floor, presently lying vacant. When the couple goes upstairs to plan the party, they find that somebody is already there: a very naked man in the bath-tub.

Lieutenant Weigand of the New York police, along with his junior officer, Mullins, starts his investigations, helped along the way with Pam North but what happens when the suspects include Jerry North.

I enjoyed this case. Mr and Mrs North are an interesting couple: She zany and confusing but with correct hunches and he, solid and reliable. However, much as I liked the couple, I found it even better that this was more of a police-procedural where it is hard-work that first establishes the identity of the victim. And more than the tete-a-tete between the Norths, I enjoyed the interaction between the various police officers and esp b/w Weigand and Mullins. I have come to know that the subsequent books in the series have more investigation done by the Norths and the role of the police is reduced. I sincerely hope it is not considerably reduced because I don’t know whether I will be able to enjoy the books then.

The book also reflects the tension of its time with an exporter being targetted because he continues to have business dealings with Germany. And yes, cats feature prominently in the book.

*

First Line: Mr. North came home rather early that Tuesday afternoon, and as soon s he came in Mrs. North realized he was in a mood.

Publication Details: 1940. NY: Mysterious Press. 2016

Series: Mr. and Mrs. North #1

Pages: 244

Other Opinions: My Reader’s Block

*

Last year I read Dorothy B. Hughes’ Dread Journey (Review pending – story of my life) and wasn’t too impressed but when I came to know that this was the year she made her debut with The So Blue Marble, a book I had heard praised highly, I decided to read it.

Griselda Satterlee, fashion designer, for Hollywood stars has come to New York in the East to take a break. In the city, she is staying at the apartment of her divorced husband, Con, who being a media person is covering up some border-skirmish and is away from the city. One night, while returning home, she is accosted by the twins Montefierrow, David and Danny, who demand that she hand them over the Blue Marble. She is bewildered because she has no idea abt what they are talking about. Later, in the book, we come to know that the marble is some mythical object that hides within it the map of a lost continent and hoardes of treasure. Griselda’s bewilderment increases when she sees that her own younger sister, Missy, is involved with the twins. And then the killing spree starts…

There is a Kafkaesque quality to this novel. As people are murdered and their bodies disappear, as people behave like psychopath killers one minute and courteous gentlemen the nest, as other people do not understand the tensions underneath, the nightmare simply doesn’t seem to end. Then there is the problem if anyone can be believed: The elder sister; her husband; the Hollywood heartthrob; the maid; the gentle professor next door, the police-officer, the husband who appears and disappears….whom can Griselda turn to. There were times when I simply wanted to scream because things got so tense. So yes, very very unbelievable but an absolute page-turner.

*

First Line: Her dress was black and her coat, with its black fox collar, but at night no one would know the fox was real.

Publication Details: 1940. Golden Apple Publishers, 1984.

Series: Griselda Satterlee #1

Pages: 181

Other Opinions: My Reader’s Block; Mysteries Ahoy!, Noirish

12 thoughts on “#1940 Club: The Norths Meet Murder by Frances and Richard Lockridge and The So Blue Marble by Dorothy B. Hughes

  1. Isn’t it interesting, Neru, how a book can require a lot of suspension of disbelief, but can still be really enjoyable? I’ve had that happen, too. As for the Lockridge(s), I know exactly what you mean about wanting the police to play a bigger role in a mystery. After all, that is what would happen in real life. It’s hard as an author to balance having an amateur sleuth with the reality that the police conduct official investigations. Still, I’m glad you liked the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Margot, I absolutely enjoy reading a police procedural. Don’t like where the police is presented as dumb. I was really happy with how they find the identity of the victim in this – it is boring, tedious work but all part of duty. Blue Marble involved a lot of suspension of disbelief but such was the charm of the writing, I didn’t roll my eyes even once:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have read several mysteries in the Norths series. You’re right about the cats!

    Dorothy B. Hughes started out as a poet and ended up over 47 years later as a well-respected book critic for the LOS ANGELES TIMES and other newspapers. In 1931, Hughes won the Yale Series of Younger Poets Competition award with her first book, DARK CERTAINTY. Over her long and varied career, Hughes published 15 crime novels with a scintillating cast of characters: spies, murderers, people from various social classes living in rural and urban areas. Hughes impressed me with the range of her work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How did you find the Norths series, George? Thanks for the info on Hughes. I didn’t know that her oeuvre was so varied. I’ll definitely be searching more of her work.

      Like

      1. There are 26 books in the North series. I’ve only read about a dozen of them. The Norths vary in quality. Plenty of domestic interaction mixed in with the mysteries. I have to be in the Right Mood to enjoy these novels.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh I see. Since I liked the interaction b/w the police-officers more, I don’t know how much I’d like their chitter-chatter. I have the second in the series, I will give it a try after some time.

          Like

  3. Finally I am coming back to comment on this post after writing my review of The So Blue Marble which was far too long. I am easily influenced by other’s reviews so I did not want to read yours until mine was done.

    I agree with you on So Blue Marble, the writing was so good, it was very easy to keep reading. Too many characters for me to keep up with. I hate to admit it but I had to look up what Kafkaesque. I know of Kafka and his writing, but still. And that is a very good description of the story.

    I read many books featuring the Norths when I was younger and enjoyed them. Since blogging, I have read a couple of them. I like them generally, although sometimes get irritated with Pam North. I find the policemen to be good characters. The most recent one I read was set on a Caribbean cruise to Havana, Voyage to Violence, and had some wacky elements. This first book in the series that you reviewed sounds very good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I am glad you liked the book, Tracy, and agree with its description. It has made me want to read more of Hughes. Thanks for recommending Voyage to Violence, I’ll search for it. really liked the interactions between “the loot” and his men so am happy that you liked the policemen too. As regards Pam North, I can understand being exasperated by her:)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.