#1929 Club: The Barrakee Mystery by Arthur Upfield and The Patient in Room 18 by Mignon G. Eberhart

Napoleon ‘Bony’ Bonaparte, born to a White father and an Australian Aboriginal woman, had been on my wishlist for a long time. I was curious to read a ‘mixed-race’ protagonist when the detectives were, for the most part, propah British gentlemen. So when the 1929 club approached and I saw that Bony’s debut was in that year, I immediately got down to reading it. And then left it…. and it’s only now that the last day of the reading event is upon us that I have steeled myself to finish it.

It is a very tough book to read. The rampant racism is too much. It is one thing to say that it was the norm at that time, absolutely another thing to read it and as otherwise hardworking, decent men and women (let’s not forget the women) ask the police why they are chasing a White man who after all has only killed a Black man and wasting the tax payer’s money to boot, I felt the gorge rise. Though, I must add the police force is very conscientious. They have to catch a murderer and though they might sympathise with him, it does not stop them from doing their duty. And so I was sad that they cut such a sorry figure.

Very briefly, a man William Clair is working at the ranch of Mr. Thornton, a generous, hardworking squatter. Thornton and his wife adore their son, Ralph, who has just returned from college when the novel opens. They also hope that Ralph marry Kate, who is their ward. Unknown to them, another young man, Frank Dugdale, the son of a friend of Mr. Thornton is also in love with Kate though as he is just an employee of Thornton, he dare not confess his feelings to her. The day the engagement of the young people is announced, Kate discovers that she loves Frank rather than Ralph who meanwhile finds himself increasingly attracted towards Nellie, an Aboriginal woman who is supposed to have a White father.

Meanwhile a murder occurs on the ranch. King Henry, an Aborigine, is found dead and as the Sergeant Knowles finds it difficult to solve the crime, they call on Bony to help them do so. The melodrama of the Thornton family, the suspicious behavior of Clair, and Bony’s deductions give the opportunity for the author to depict the life of the Australian Bush. This was very interesting at first and I even enjoyed the Australian colloquialisms but after sometime it became too exasperating and the worshipping of White Womanhood became too much to take. Still, however, I’d have overlooked everything had it not been for this sentence: “… took to her bosom a living asp.”

As must be clear, the novel definitely did not turn out the way, I had hoped it would. Let alone the warped world-view, even the mystery was pathetic and the reveals sprang no surprise But Bony, though he seemed to have internalized many things regarding the civilised superiority of the Whites and the corresponding savage inferiority of the Blacks, did hold out promise of better things as his comments at times indicated: “The Yarra blacks, now unhappily wiped out by you gentle white people…” or “My ancestors on my mother’s side knew not Christ, but they were better Christians than the Emperor’s jailers.” So I’ll definitely read more of his cases.

Have you read his other books? Which one would you recommend?

*

First Line: With eyes fixed thoughtfully on the slow-moving muddy stream of the River Darling, William Clair lounged in the golden light of the setting sun.

Publication Details: 1929. Exile Bay: ETT Imprint, 2017.

Alternate Title: The Lure of the Bush

Series: Bony #1

Pages: 286

Other Opinions: Mack’s Stack of Books…and Stuff , My Reader’s Block, Mysteries in Paradise, Writers who Kill

*

My last review for the event is another debut, that of Nurse Sarah Keate, the creation of American author Mignon G. Eberhart. The novel opens with nurse Keate recounting as to why Room No. 18 in the hospital, she works in , St. Ann’s has acquired such an evil reputation: patients ask not to be put in that room and the hospital staff refuses to go inside it. It all began with a dinner when Dr. Letheney invited Sarah and her friend and colleague, Maida Day to his home. Two other doctors, Balman and Hajek, as well as Jim Gainsay, an old friend of Dr. Lethney who was on his way to Russia, were the other guests at the party which was hosted by Corole, Dr. Letheney’s cousin. Soon, however, Sarah began to feel oppressive not only from the clammy weather but also the tensions in the room with Corole and Lethany’s dislike for each other coming to the fore, Corole being catty, Maida stand-offish, and Jim’s attraction to Maida becoming obvious much to the distress of Lethney. The only one interested in dinner was apparently Dr. Balman who needed funds for his research but was being denied by the Directors of the hospital. There was also talk of the patient in Room 18 who was being treated with radium.

As must be obvious, very soon after the dinner, the unfortunate patient was found dead and the radium missing. When Sarah called up Dr. Letheney’s home, he wasn’t there and Dr. Balman had to come over. The police too was called and Detective O’Leary took the help of Sarah in solving the case.

I enjoyed the book though some of the things would seem so unbelievable now. Power cuts in hospital forcing the staff to resort to candles being the most prominent. There are also the usual GAD tropes of characters being on suspicious errands at the time of the murder and a character claiming that s/he knows something but won’t divulge and ending up dead. I do not know about the other books but Sarah doesn’t seem very observant in this first case: the tension between Maida and Dr. Lethney for one, the danger that the janitor might be in, for another. Also I did not like the fact that while the police is sure that both Mathilda and Corole are hiding something, they grill the latter but not the former (and the reason behind that is rather sad). In fact, Mathilda seems to be treated as someone precious by almost every character despite the fact that I found her hard-as-nails.

The mystery was okay but what stood out for me was Eberhart’s talent in creating a tense and sinister atmosphere. I will definitely be reading more of her. Any recommendations?

*

First Line: St. Ann’s is an old hospital, sprawling in a great heap of weather-stained red brick and green ivy on the side of Thatcher Hill, a little east and south of the city of B_

Publication Details: 1929. Thorndike: Thorndike Press, 1994.

Dedicated to: William and Margaret Good

Series: Nurse Sarah Keate #1

Pages: 396

Other Opinions: Crossexamining Crime, My Reader’s Blog, The Mystillery Blog

*

Both the books are available @ Open Library.

*

15 thoughts on “#1929 Club: The Barrakee Mystery by Arthur Upfield and The Patient in Room 18 by Mignon G. Eberhart

  1. I’m very glad you liked both of these, Neeru. I really enjoy Upfield’s writing, although I must confess, I haven’t read all of his work. Among many other things, I feel he was really skilled at evoking the setting and culture. The mysteries are interesting, too, in my opinion, and solidly plotted. I hope you” get the chance to read more.

    Like

  2. What an interesting pairing and neither are authors I’ve read. I have heard of Upfield’s character, but it sounds like this was harder to take than some vintage mysteries. As for Eberhardt I do own one of her books and am keen to get to it at some points – she sounds interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just picked up a pile of Upfields and finished “The Bone is Pointed” today. I have previously read “The Winds of Evil.”

    As Margot mentioned, his descriptions and the effort he takes to convey the Australian/Aboriginal culture are his main attraction, and being an Aussie myself, I appreciate reading books taking place in my “own backyard” so to speak, rather than the usual (for me) U.K. The mystery side is pretty good too.

    Bony is an interesting and mostly likable character; the fact he is a “half-caste” is the key to his motivations and skills. I get a little tired hearing about how brilliant and handsome he is, but I’m getting used to it. Terms such as “half-caste” and several others date the book and are not acceptable now, but everything has to be viewed and read with some understanding of the place and time it was written. No doubt future peoples will read the most PC of novels published in 2024 and be spitting blood for whatever reason.

    Certainly, it’s always very clear that Upfield has a great deal of respect and admiration for our First Peoples, borne out of spending so much time with them himself as he travelled/ worked around much of Australia.

    Have another go with an Upfield sometime perhaps, if the opportunity arises!

    Like

    1. Wonderful to hear from you once again. Hope 2024 has begun well for you.

      Oh I am sure you must really enjoy books set in Australia. And Upfield definitely did do that very well in this book that I read. Last year, I read two books set in Australia: The Island (totally forgettable) and The Dry (pretty good). Have you read them? I don’t mind phrases like ‘half-caste’ etc being used for people who are not ‘pukka’. And I hate books written nowadays but set in the past where the characters have too much of a pc sensibility or vocabulary. The sanitized version of the past kills the book for me and insults the work of those who fought against discrimination and segregation. I agree that Upfield had respect and admiration for the First Peoples of Australia, otherwise he would not have created a character like Napoleon. That said, however, he was also of his time and writing to a predominantly White readership and that one phrase which I have mentioned in my post was finally the straw that broke the camel’s back. However, it might be that his other books would give me much more satisfaction. Have not written him off. I might try the books that you have mentioned or Venom House which I have with me. Have you read that too? I wonder if he got more confident as he wrote more in the series.

      Like

      1. You’ll tend to “see” me around during the Aussie school holidays, as I am a primary school teacher and that’s when I work through the murder mystery pile haha. It’s chapters of Dickens and Sherlock Holmes during the term. I find you really need to read a whodunnit within 2-3 days.

        I have not read the two books you mentioned, but I see “The Dry” was made into a very successful movie a few years ago. Naturally the book is the place to start though, I’ll keep a look out.

        Definitely agree in principle about PC-ifying the past, but it doesn’t affect me much as I don’t read a lot of modern fiction.

        I have not read “Venom House” and it isn’t in the pile at the moment! Upfield certainly has some intriguing titles for this books, does’t he? I just finished “Death of a Swagman” which was rather good too. Back to school on Monday, for better or worse…

        Like

        1. How is the school treating you? Do you also have the 10+2 system in schools in Australia? Which book of Dickens have you started? It’s ages since I read him. For some years now, my reading has been mostly of mysteries. If you read The Dry, I’d love to know your reaction. Venom House seems like a country-house mystery set in Australia. Faded Page has a number of Upfield’s titles so if you are not averse to reading ebooks, you could download them from there. Your enthusiasm for him, makes me pick one once again. Take care.

          Like

          1. A lot of families doing it tough where I teach, which can makes things tricky, but hopefully I can be someone positive in their life!
            I’ve never heard of 10+2 I must admit, we have 7 years of primary ( I teach grade 3) and then 6 of high school with the last two being the big years in terms of achieving your certificate of education.

            I will certainly let you know when I read “The Dry!” Hopefully you enjoy “Venom House” and it doesn’t poison your new-found enthusiasm haha.

            Reading any Dickens is pure joy if you like that old style of prose, his sentences and wordplay are just heavenly. I have read a quite a few of his in the past, but just got a nice full set of Heron books and started from the start. “Tales from Boz” which already shows his amazing skills as a young man, which I read for the first time, and am now halfway through a read of The Pickwick Papers which is a huge amount of fun. Great books to read just a chapter every now and then, unlike whodunnits/ mysteries.

            Have a wonderful week, whatever country (UK?) you are in!

            Like

            1. Sorry to hear about it being tough but I am sure you are making a difference to the families. School education in India (that’s where I am) is usually 2 years of Kindergarten, 10 years of learning all subjects and then two years of Commerce/ Humanities/ Science. Two board exams, one when you are in 10th and the second one in 12th.

              Haven’t read Dickens for ages but am very keen to read Our Mutual Friend and A Tale of Two Cities. Let’s see when I get to them. Of all his books read, I love his last book Edwin Drood.

              I would wait for your views on The Dry. One Australian book that is a great fave is Peter Carey’s The Fat Man in History. i liked his Oscar and Lucinda too but not as much as the former.

              Have a great week.

              Like

              1. India, eh? Not so far away then. The 10+2 system sounds interesting!
                I have read “Take of two cities” but not the other two you mention. I’ll get to them but not for a while if I’m reading in order.

                I read “Peter Carey Collected Stories” in year 11 Literature class and enjoyed them, it’s still on my shelf and I’ve revisited it once since then; they are memorable short stories to be sure!

                Like

                1. Have you been to India? TBH I think we need an overhauling of the 10+2 system. What’s the use of teaching all subjects till the tenth class? Glad you also like Carey’s stories. Reading Dickens in order. That’s a huge project. My best wishes.

                  Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.